FOWC- Hardship

Hardship can lead you to do some terrible things. Awful, inhumane things. No one knows the lengths they will go to, to survive until they’re being pushed to their very limits and beyond.

I should know. 

When our plane crashed into the side of that mountain, I felt for sure I was dead. There was no way a normal, slightly overweight nerd like me could survive a plummet from 10,000 feet in the air and land head first into a pile of rocks and survive! That’s superhero stuff right?  But I did. Well, we did.

There were 18 of us that first night, out of god knows how many. Stumbling around lost and confused, trying to find our belongings, trying to find our loved ones… That night, the first night was hard. None of us knew what we were doing, if only we had known what was to come we could have saved our resources, orgainised ourselves better but that didn’t come until days later, when we knew no rescue was coming. By that time we had blown through most of the salvageable food and drink. 

How were we supposed to know?

We found the transmitter, we tried to make emergency calls, the fittest of us hiked up the mountain more to try and get a better signal and a week later there was still no answer. 

With empty bellies and dry cracked lips we made the only choice we could, to try and find our own way home. 

Time after time I thought I was for sure dead, just like that first day. I’m just your average joe, how was I doing this? Surviving this awful trauma? 

Then when one of us couldn’t go on, what were we meant to do? Just leave her there by herself? What was the sense in that?

I’ll never forgive myself for how my mouth watered.

Hardship can lead to terrible, inhumane things.

.

.

.

Written for and inspired by Fandango’s One Word Challenge

.

.

.

.Thank you for reading, if you’d like to support me you could Buy Me A Coffee

6 thoughts on “FOWC- Hardship

Add yours

  1. This actually happened when a Uruguayan plane crashed in the Andes Mountains in Argentina on October 13, 1972. The wreckage of the plane was not located for more than two months. Of the 45 people aboard the plane, only 16 survived the ordeal by resorting to cannibalism.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑